Young Il Kim

BlueCat Discovery • Winner (2006)

Young Il Kim won the BlueCat Screenplay Competition with his script Hyung’s Overture. Since winning BlueCat his screenplay Rodham, based on the early life of Hillary Clinton, topped the Blacklist.  Presently, he is a staff writer on the Showtime television series Billions. Kim is represented by UTA.


BlueCat Discovery • Success Stories (1998 - Present)

Many of BlueCat’s Winners and Finalists have industry success stories.

Our Winners and Finalists have been signed by major talent agencies like UTA, CAA and WME, sold their work to studios like Warner Bros., Paramount and Universal, and won major awards at the Sundance, Berlin and Tribeca Film Festivals, all after being discovered by or winning BlueCat.

Check out some of our notable Winners and Finalists in the slideshow and a more thorough list of our alumni below!

Ana Lily Amirpour

BlueCat Discovery • Grand Prize (2007)

Ana Lily Amirpour was a Grand Prize Winner of BlueCat. Since winning the competition with her screenplay The StonesAmirpour has written and directed the feature film A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night. The film premiered at the Sundance Film Festival, played numerous festivals across the globe, and was nominated for three Independent Spirit Awards, including Best First Feature. Additionally, Amirpour was nominated for the “Someone to Watch” Award. Amirpour’s next film, The Bad Batch, starring Jason Momoa, Giovanni Ribisi, and Keanu Reeves, premiered at the Venice Film Festival and was awarded a Special Jury Prize. Amirpour is represented by CAA. 

Aaron Guzikowski

BlueCat Discovery • Finalist (2005)

Aaron Guzikowski became a BlueCat finalist for his screenplay Panacea. Since becoming a BlueCat finalist, Guzikowski has written several major motion pictures. Guzikowski has written film Prisoners, directed by acclaimed director Denis Villeneuve and starring Hugh Jackman, Jake Gyllenhaal, and Viola Davis. Guzikowski also wrote Contraband, starring Mark Wahlberg, Giovanni Ribisi, and Kate Beckinsale. Additionally, Guzikowski has written the forthcoming remake of the film Papillion, starring Charlie Hunnam and Rami Malek, to be released by Bleeker Street Media. Guzikowski has also had success in television and created the Amazon series The Red Road. Guzikowski is repped by Verve and Madhouse Entertainment.

Paras Borgohain

BlueCat Discovery • Roshan Award (2016)

Paras Borgohain won the Roshon Award (Best Feature Screenplay from India) in 2016 with his screenplay Deepest, Darkest or How Not to LieCurrently, he writes for the Indian Sesame Street show. Since winning BlueCat, he has signed writing contracts for two animated shows from Turner, including the popular Roll No.21.

Kateland Brown

BlueCat Discovery • Finalist (2014)

Kateland Brown became a BlueCat finalist for her screenplay Hambone. Since becoming a BlueCat finalist, Brown has found success writing for television. She is currently a staff writer for the Freeform series Famous in Love, starring Bella Thorne. She has previously written episodes of the hit ABC Family show Pretty Little Liars

Andy Stock and Rick Stempson

BlueCat Discovery • Grand Prize (2005)

Andy Stock and Rick Stempson’s were BlueCat Winners with their submission Gary The Tennis Coach.  The screenplay was later made into a motion picture and released by Sony as Balls Out: Gary The Tennis CoachThe film starred Sean William Scott and Randy Quaid. Stock and Stempson’s follow-up was The Goods: Live Hard, Sell Hard, which starred Jeremy Piven and Ving Rhames, and was released by Paramount.



Lance Hammer

BlueCat Discovery • Finalist (2004)

Lance Hammer was a BlueCat Finalist with his script An Imperfect Cell. Hammer went on to write and direct the critical indie darling Ballast, which had its premiere at the Sundance Film Festival. Hammer won a Directing Award at the festival. The film was nominated for six Independent Spirit Awards, including Best First Screenplay, Best Director, and Best Feature. Roger Ebert, giving the film four out of four stars, wrote, “Ballast inexorably grows and deepens and gathers power and absorbs us. I always say I hardly ever cry at sad films, but I sometimes do, just a little, at films about good people.” Hammer clinched the Best Director award from the Gotham Independent Film Awards.

Alumni Directory

HF Crum
Grand Prize
Ian Simpson
Grand Prize
Jerry Mahoney
Grand Prize
Timo E. Peltonen
Grand Prize
Ana Lily Amirpour
Grand Prize
Rick Stempson
Grand Prize
Andy Stock
Grand Prize
Justin Thomas
Grand Prize
Andy Pagana
Grand Prize